Read a Book

Alzheimer's Speaks Blog

Read a Book

By: Michelle Remold

One of my favorite past times is reading. I enjoy reading anything by John Steinbeck and have two lists of books I am trying to read my way through. During my undergrad however, I discovered a new literary area that I enjoyed reading. This area was made up of personal accounts from those who had first hand experiences with Alzheimer’s and dementia.

I have read non-fiction books before, but they haven’t really been anything that sparked my interest. Within the last couple of years however, I have found that reading personal accounts of Alzheimer’s and dementia are a strong interest area for me. It provides a glimpse into someone else’s experience with the disease.

Reading personal accounts provides the opportunity to find comfort in similarities of the disease and the differences increases my compassion for those dealing with the disease while increasing  my knowledge. While…

View original post 186 more words

Leave a Reply

