Upcoming Speaking Engagements

Easter is my favorite time of year, not just because it’s finally time for the snow to disappear and the green to show up but because of what it means to me spiritually. This is the most glorious time of year for Christians and also a time of great sadness as we reflect upon all that had to take place for us to be free from sin and live in His Grace, eternally. We are truly blessed.

Yet sometimes we forget the blessings as we struggle with the challenges of Alzheimer’s Disease. Our loved ones may or may not recognize us, they may be angry and confused, they may not even appear to have a real thought process going on any longer. BUT, they are our loved ones and we must always remember them as the loving, caring, vibrant, creative precious people we knew and loved before the disease that has so devastated our lives. We must treat them with the dignity and respect they deserve; keeping in mind that our good LORD treats us with His Grace, regardless of what we may deserve. He loves us and is always there for us in all circumstances and illnesses as well as in our moments of joy and success.

As I write today I’m reflecting on past speaking engagements that have resulted because of my journey with my Dad. I never imagined such heartache could be the instrument of such healing, support and the ability to help others as a tribute to the memory of my Dad.

Now I”m thinking about the two upcoming speaking engagements and praying for God to use me as an instrument of His love to share my journey for the benefit of others at these next to events. The first one is at Fairway Pines in Sauk Centre, May 1st, 2014 at 6:30 PM and it is open to the public.

Lakes Area Memory Awareness Advocacy (LAMAA) is hosting their annual educational forum May 20, 2014 and I have been invited to speak about my journey with Dad through Alzheimer’s Disease. This year the forum will be held at the Arrowwood Lodge in Baxter, MN. The theme is “ACTing on Alzheimer’s: Live Well with Hope”. Registration begins at 8:00 AM with the program beginning at 8:45 AM and ending at 3:00 PM. Registration is $15.00 and includes lunch. You can register at memoryadvocates@gmail.com or by calling Cassandra 218-822-5573.

I hope you’ll save these dates and I look forward to seeing you in either Sauk Centre or Baxter in May. In the meantime, “Live well with hope”. Lj

Leave a Reply

